top of page
frank schurz.jpg

Awards Received

Top Publisher of the Year

Lifetime Achievement Award

Publisher of the Decade

Hall of Fame

Franklin D. Schurz Jr., Chairman Emeritus of the Board of Mishawaka-based Schurz Communications Inc., a media holdings company that published the South Bend Tribune and 11 other daily papers, was recently selected as Top Publisher of the Decade for 2020 by the International Association of Top Professionals (IAOTP). 

Inclusion with the International Association of Top Professionals is an honor in itself as only one Publisher is selected for this distinction. Mr. Schurz is being recognized for this honor for dedicating close to 30 years to the Publishing Industry. He was recently honored at IAOTP’s Annual Awards Gala at the Bellagio Hotel in Las Vegas as Top Publisher of the Year for 2019. IAOTP is incredibly honored to recognize Mr. Schurz for his success and dedication to his field. He will be honored at IAOTP’s Annual Awards Gala being held at the Plaza Hotel in New York City at the end of this year for this distinction, as well as for his induction into the exclusive Hall of Fame. 

Mr. Schurz’s effective leadership as Chairman of the Board of Schurz Communications, Inc., proves his dedication and excellence in his field. Throughout the course of his professional career, Mr. Schurz held positions such as President of Maryland-Delaware-D.C. Press Association, the Hoosier State Press Association, the Chesapeake A.P. Association, and the Institute of Newspaper Controllers and Finance Officers. He has been Editor and Publisher of both the South Bend Tribune in South Bend, Indiana, and the Morning Herald and Daily Mail in Hagerstown, Maryland. For 15 years Mr. Schurz also spent time in broadcasting, serving as President of WDBJ Television, Inc. Roanoke, Virginia; WAGT Television, Inc., Augusta, Georgia; KY3, Inc., Springfield, Missouri; and WASK, Inc., Lafayette, Indiana.

As a dedicated serviceman who served in the US Army Reserves Artillery from 1952-1962, Mr. Schurz ranked from Second Lieutenant to Captain. He earned his BA in 1952 from Harvard University and his MBA from Harvard University in 1956.  Mr. Schurz continued his education doing postgraduate work involving the Advanced Management Program at Harvard University. He also received an Honorary LHD from Indiana University in 2015. 

Stephanie Cirami, the President of IAOTP stated, “Choosing Mr. Schurz for this honor was an effortless decision for our panel to make. His passion for publishing and perseverance to remain successful are what make him such an extraordinary leader. We are thrilled to be honoring Mr. Schurz and are looking forward to celebrating his most recent title of Top Publisher of the Decade.” 

In addition to Mr. Schurz being recognized worldwide for his initiative and allegiance to the publishing industry, this year he will be considered for an Interview on T.I.P. Radio. In 2019 he graced the front cover of T.I.P. (Top Industry Professionals) Magazine and was featured on the famous Reuters Building in Times Square by the International Association of Top Professionals (IAOTP). In previous years, he received the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award and has been in numerous editions of Who’s Who in America, Who’s Who in Finance and Industry, Who’s Who in Entertainment, Who’s Who in Media and Communication, Who’s Who in the Midwest and Who’s Who in the World. He has also received the NAB Chuck Sherman Award, the Casey Award from the University of Minnesota, the AWRT Achievement Award from the American Women in Radio and Television, the Frank Rogers Award from the Rotary Club of South Bend (IN), the Presidential Award of Merit by the National Newspaper Association and the Lifetime Achievement Silver Award from the Michiana Ad Club.

Aside from his thriving career, Mr. Schurz is active in his community, has served on many boards and committees and is a contributor to many professional journals.  He served on the board of directors of the Newspapers Advertising bureau, The American Press Institute, the Southern Production Plan, and the Riverside Press Enterprise, and Inland Press Association. Mr. Schurz has also been an instrumental force for the growth of Indiana University’s South Bend campus. He established the Opportunity Scholarship there in 2003 which awards students based on academic achievement and financial need. Mr. Schurz also sought out donors to invest into the University. Similar funds are in place at four other educational institutions. 

Looking to the future, Mr. Schurz hopes that those dedicated to excellence in news and information and investigative journalism will be able to find current and future technological platforms to reach informed audiences. 

Franklin Schurz Jr. Honored member of IAOTP

Franklin Schurz Jr. Honored member of IAOTP

Play Video
bottom of page